Sat , December 15, 2018
Home / Arizona Marijuana News / Is Arizona Going to Reduce the Annual Medical Marijuana Card Fee?

Is Arizona Going to Reduce the Annual Medical Marijuana Card Fee?

Arizona Marijuana Patient Card

Medical marijuana card fees vary significantly by state with Arizona having one of the highest in the country. The state reports having nearly 190,000 patients, many of which struggle to afford the state’s $150 annual fee (plus another $100-$150 for an annual state-required medical marijuana doctor certification), leaving them unable to renew every year.

The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act allows the state to charge a fee that covers the cost of operating the state’s medical marijuana program. Currently, there is a surplus of tens of millions of dollars from the program’s fees imposed on patients and dispensaries. The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS), if they decided to, could simply decrease the annual fee to a more reasonable amount; for example, $30 – an amount that will still produce sufficient revenue ($5.7 million produced annually from 190,000 patients) for the state while not putting an unnecessary financial burden on the state’s citizens seeking alternative medicine.

Arizona medical marijuana patients and lawmakers, such as Senator Sonny Borrelli, have been attempting to get the ADHS to lower the annual card fee. But it’s been an unsuccessful battle so far.

With enough pressure from Arizonans the ADHS could be compelled to succumb to Arizonans’ demand for a (considerably) lower annual fee.

Many other states across the country have successful medical marijuana programs yet charge a lower annual fee than Arizona. Most states currently charge less than $100 annually.

Marijuana card fees by state:

  • Alaska – $25
  • Arizona – $150 ($75 for those on SNAP)
  • Arkansas – $50
  • California – $66 ($33 for Medi-Cal patients)
  • Colorado – $15
  • Connecticut – $100
  • Delaware – $125
  • Florida – $75
  • Hawaii – $35
  • Illinois – $100 ($50 for SSDI, SSI and veterans)
  • Iowa – $100 ($25 for SSDI, SSI or Medicaid)
  • Maine – Free (registration is voluntary)
  • Maryland – Free ($50 optional MMCC ID card fee)
  • Massachusetts – $50
  • Michigan – $60
  • Minnesota – $200 ($50 for SSDI, SSI or Minnesota Care patients)
  • Missouri – $25
  • Montana – $75
  • Nevada – $100
  • New Hampshire – $50
  • New Jersey – $200 (reduced fee for certain individuals)
  • New Mexico – Free
  • New York – $50
  • North Dakota – $100 for first time registrants, then $50 plus $25 renewal fee
  • Ohio – $50
  • Oklahoma – $100 ($20 for those receiving SoonerCare or Medicare)
  • Oregon – $200 ($60 for Oregon Health Plan members and SNAP. $20 for veterans and SSI)
  • Pennsylvania – $50
  • Rhode Island – $100 ($10 for Medicaid or SSI)
  • Utah – $200
  • Vermont – $50
  • Virginia – $50
  • Washington – $1
  • Washington D.C. – $100
  • West Virginia – $50 (can be waived if financial hardship is proven)

Contact the ADHS to leave your comment on this issue.