Arizona Marijuana Law
Arizona Medical Marijuana Law Overview
Arizona voters approved Proposition 203 in 2010, an initiative that legalized the medical use of marijuana. The Arizona Department of Health Services (AZDHS) was given the task to regulate the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA).
The AMMA allows state-licensed doctors to recommend medical marijuana to Arizonans that have at least one qualifying condition. With a recommendation, a patient can get an Arizona medical marijuana card which allows them to purchase, possess, and use marijuana. A patient can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary every 2 weeks and posses up to 2.5 ounces at any time.
Under certain qualifications, a patient can grow up to 12 marijuana plants or find a care giver to grow for them.
As of September 2016, Arizona has about 100,000 medical marijuana patients and about 100 operating state-licensed medical marijuana dispensaries.
Learn more: AZDHS
Arizona Recreational Marijuana Law Overview
In November 2016, Proposition 205, the ballot initiative to legalize marijuana for adult use in Arizona, narrowly failed, 48-52.
Prop 205 would have allowed adults 21 and older to possess limited amounts of marijuana, established a government-regulated system in which marijuana is regulated similarly to alcohol, and enacted a 15 percent tax on retail marijuana sales. A majority of the tax revenue would have been directed to Arizona schools and other education programs.
Learn more: Prop 205
Arizona Marijuana Attorneys List
Learn more: Search Arizona Marijuana Attorneys
Arizona Medical Marijuana Quick Facts
This article will help you understand the key points to Arizona’s medical marijuana program: “Arizona Medical Marijuana Quick Facts”
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona
Read this article that simplifies how to legally get a medical marijuana card: “Get an Arizona Medical Marijuana Card”
Marijuana Card Renewals in Arizona
This article will help you understand how to get re-certified for a medical marijuana card in Arizona and includes a link to access the marijuana card renewal application forms: “Medical Marijuana Card Renewal Guide”
Proposition 203: The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act
Proposition 203, the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, was passed in November of 2010. It protects terminally or seriously ill patients from state prosecution for using limited amounts of marijuana on their doctor’s recommendation. Qualifying patients who register with the Arizona Department of Health Services will obtain marijuana from nonprofit medical marijuana dispensaries and caregivers regulated by the Arizona Department of Health Services (AZDHS). Read Proposition 203: the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, or download it here.
Since the passing of Prop 203, the AZDHS has developed statewide rules for patients, caregivers and dispensaries. These rules regulate who can use, grow, sell and buy medical marijuana. It also set the processes, time lines, and fees associated with registration cards.
Medical Marijuana Patient Law
Medical marijuana patients in Arizona must have one of the qualifying conditions, have a doctor’s recommendation, must be registered with the Arizona Department of Health Services, and must pay the appropriate fee.
Medical Marijuana Caregiver Law
Arizona will allow registered individuals to act as caregivers for medical marijuana patients. Caregivers can provide medical marijuana to up to five patients and are allowed to cultivate up to 12 plants per patient, as long as the patient lives over 25 miles away from a dispensary and the caregiver does so in accordance to the State and City caregiver cultivation rules. Caregivers and their patients must be registered with the State and must pay the associated fees.
Medical Marijuana Dispensary and Cultivation Laws
Arizona will have a total of 126 dispensaries, 1 medical marijuana dispensary for every 10 pharmacy permits in the State. The Arizona Department of Health Services will begin accepting applications for dispensaries on June 1st, 2011 and it plans to have the first licenses issued by August or September. The 126 licenses will be picked at random in a in a lottery-style process. Applicants that want to participate must submit an application along with all appropriate documentation and a non-refundable $5,000 application fee.
|Click here to download the Arizona Department of Health Services Final Rules for Medical Marijuana|
Marijuana Rights for Residents and Tourists in Arizona
Arizonans–whether medical marijuana patients or not–and tourists should know the restrictions and protections that come with the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act. These medical marijuana laws, much like alcohol laws, help keep citizens safer. Read full article about “All Arizonans’ Rights In Regards to Medical Marijuana Laws.”
Arizona’s medical marijuana law does not protect people that are not registered with the State as a patient, caregiver, or dispensary agent (employee). CURRENT CRIMINAL MARIJUANA LAWS APPLY! Don’t think that marijuana is legal or anyone can possess or use it. Again, only those that are registered are protected! Arizona has some of the toughest criminal marijuana laws in the United States. Even first time possession or use charges can carry steep fines, mandatory jail time and possibly felony charges.
Do Other States’ Marijuana Cards Work in Arizona
Yes. The Arizona Department of Health Services (AZDHS) says you can possess and use marijuana in AZ if… Read full article about “Do Other States’ Marijuana Cards Work in Arizona.”
Medical Marijuana Patients Visiting Nevada
Nevada has a medical marijuana card reciprocity law, which means Nevada dispensaries can accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards. Medical marijuana patients visiting Nevada can bring their valid medical marijuana card into any Nevada dispensary and purchase up to one ounce of medical marijuana.
Arizona Marijuana DUI Laws
The state Supreme Court ruled that Arizona authorities can’t prosecute motorists in Arizona for driving under the influence of marijuana unless the driver is … Read full article about “Arizona Marijuana DUI Laws.”