Sat , February 25, 2017
Phoenix Dispensary
Home / Arizona Marijuana News / Arizona Marijuana Facts

Arizona Marijuana Facts

Arizona Marijuana Laws and Facts

Arizona Medical Marijuana Facts

AZ Marijuana Law Overview

A few facts about Arizona’s medical marijuana laws are listed below. Arizona lawmakers made the medical marijuana laws very specific in order to tightly regulate the medical marijuana industry. Here are the main facts about Arizona’s medical marijuana laws:

-Qualifying conditions: cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, ALS (Lou Gehrig’s), Crohn’s, Alzheimer’s, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe and chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures (like epilespy), and severe and persistent spasms (like multiple sclerosis).

-The allowable amount of marijuana for patients and caregivers is up to 2.5 ounces every two weeks.

-Patients and caregivers may not possess medical marijuana on a school bus, school, or correctional facility.

-Patients may not smoke marijuana on public transportation or in any public place.

-Patients may not drive under the influence of marijuana.

-If a patient or caregiver is allowed to cultivate, the limit is 12 plants that must be grown in an “enclosed, locked facility”, defined as “closet, room, greenhouse, or other enclosed area”.

-Caregivers must be 21 years old and pass criminal background check for certain felonies.

-Caregivers can serve no more than five patients, must keep a card for each one

-Caregivers may receive reimbursement for actual expenses – not labor – from their own patients only.

-Patients’ and Caregivers’ medical marijuana cards last for one year and will contain their photo, name, address, birthdate, and indication whether medical marijuana is allowed to be cultivated at home.

-If the state has not issued a card within 45 days, a copy of the application shall have the same force as the card.

-Patients and caregivers must submit fingerprints to law enforcement and sign a statement that they will not divert marijuana to non-patients.

-Patients and caregivers may share marijuana with other patients for free, as long as they don’t knowingly cause the patient to exceed 2.5 ounces.

-Non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries are allowed.

-A patient who lives within 25 miles of a dispensary may not cultivate their own medical marijuana.

-Fees for non-profit dispensaries shall not be greater than $5,000 or $1,000 for a renewal license.

-Dispensaries must cultivate their own medical marijuana, which they can do onsite or at one separate physical address

-Patients and Caregivers may give marijuana to dispensaries, but not for any compensation.

-Neither the dispensary nor the cultivation address may be within 500 feet of a school.

-There can be no more than one dispensary for every ten pharmacies, except that there can be at least one dispensary in every county.

-The cards or recommendations for visiting patients from other medical marijuana states will be recognized in Arizona, but they may not shop at the dispensaries.

-Patients in assisted care facilities can be limited to non-smoking methods of use and only in certain areas; however, such facilities are not required to enact these limitations.

-Dispensaries must have a single secure entrance, a strong security system, and no medicating is allowed on the premises.

-Dispensaries must track patients’ acquisitions to ensure they receive no more than 2.5 ounces from any dispensaries within a fourteen day period.

-There shall be a secure, web-based confirmation system accessible by law enforcement and dispensaries, that reveals patients’ and caregivers’ names but not addresses and how much marijuana the patient received from all dispensaries in the past sixty days.

-Non-patients cannot be punished for being the vicinity of lawful medical marijuana use by patients or providing paraphernalia to patients.

-Schools and landlords cannot discriminate against medical marijuana patients and caregivers, unless they are subject to federal penalty.

-Employers cannot discriminate against patients and caregivers and a positive test for marijuana metabolites is not cause for disciplining or terminating a patient.

-Medical facilities and treatments, including organ transplants, cannot be denied to patients for their medical marijuana use.

-Parental rights of patients cannot be denied solely for their medical marijuana use.

Click here for more information about Arizona’s medical marijuana laws.

Related Topics

Learn how to get a medical marijuana in Arizona.

View all Arizona dispensaries on the Dispensary Map.

Browse or post marijuana-related products or services on in our Marijuana Classifieds.

Have discussions or meet Arizona marijuana advocates and businesses in our Marijuana Forum.

See our Reviews which include marijuana product reviews and local marijuana strain reviews from dispensaries.

Find the best medical marijuana doctors in Phoenix and throughout Arizona.